Marketing Tips & Latest News – Feb 2019

New Book Deal!!!

So, if you’ve been following me on Twitter you may have heard that I just signed a contract for a second book deal with American Publisher Magnolia Press (https://www.magnolia.press/.). The Shadow Keepers is a young adult horror novel that tackles not just creepy stuff, but important aspects of mental health.

Here’s what Magnolia have to say about it:

“Spine-chilling stories are being added to Magnolia’s shelves with the addition of Marisa Noelle’s YA Horror, The Shadow Keepers. Favorited during October’s #DVPit event, Noelle’s novel tackles mental illness through her main character, Georgia, who is desperate to prove her sanity when shadow creatures start invading the asylum she’s been committed to. The Shadow Keepers will be for fans of Juno Dawson’s Say Her Name and Katie Alender’s The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall.”

In a twist of events, The Shadow Keepers will be released before The Unadjusteds.

THE UNADJUSTEDS: 

Which leads me onto the Unadjusteds. Final blurb has finally been written and I’m hoping to have a book cover later this month.

Sixteen-year old Silver Melody lives in a world where 80% of the population has modified their DNA. Known as the superfreaks, those people now possess enhancements like wings, tails, and increased strength or intelligence. Although Silver’s parents created the nanite pill used to deliver these genetic modifications, Silver is proud of her unadjusted state.
However, when the president declares all unadjusteds must take a nanite, Silver has no choice but to flee the city with her father and some friends to prevent the extinction of the unadjusteds.
With Silver’s mother in prison for treason, Silver’s father is the unadjusteds’ only hope at finding a cure. But time is running out as Silver’s father is captured by the president’s almost immortal army. Vicious hellhounds are on Silver’s trail, and her only chance to recover her father involves teaming up with a new group of unlikely friends before all humanity is lost.

Which leads me onto my main topic – Marketing. I was encouraged by a writing friend to talk about my methods, so here goes. By no means am I an expert, but I’d like to pass on what knowledge I have.

IT TAKES TIME!!!

There’s no avoiding the hours you need to put in to promoting your books. We’d all rather be writing and getting that next book out, but if you want your book to be as successful as possible, then you need to spend some time on promotion. And I’ve found a liking for developing aesthetics which I have found oddly therapeutic.

No one wants to see a bunch of posts on Twitter or Insta that just say BUY MY BOOK repeatedly into the void. I skip over them too. I believe the key is engagement and posting content across as many platforms as possible. My dominant social medial platform is Twitter and I will always be more comfortable there and spend more time there, but I am trying to develop my INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST too. The more platforms you develop the more you can link all your sites together in one place (like an author website or a Twitter bio).

I don’t post the same content on each platform. I have devised a spreadsheet – aha! So for what I put on Twitter, I will post on Insta two weeks later. This keeps the feed fresh and your followers aren’t seeing the same post across all your links.

But what am I posting? I don’t have a book cover and I don’t have any pre-order links yet. This is the perfect time to develop interest in your book and generate excitement, before you start shoving links down people’s throats. I post quotes and information about my books printed over aesthetics. I am hoping to put across the vibe of the book and get people excited about the content. Here are some examples:

But how did I create this?

Canva is my favourite tools. It let’s you upload photos and add text boxes or any number of elements to create your image. You can then download and save. Images can either be found by taking them yourself or using stock photos from websites such as PEXLES or PIXABAY – just check that you don’t have to pay attribution to the photographer (easy to do and most you don’t.)

That’s been pretty much my plan so far, as that’s as far as my journey has travelled. But there are other things to do. Whether you are self-publishing or going with a traditional big 5, it’s worth putting a few £££ away for marketing. Bookmarks and pins make good giveaways that you could offer to the first ten people that pre-order your book and sign up to your newsletter (wink wink). Signed copies often generate a frenzy. Once your book is out you could ask members of the public to take pictures of your book ‘in the wild’ and post them on social media. This will help to create a buzz.

The other major item I have undertaken is finding book bloggers and reviewers. You can either do this by putting your book on NetGalley – but this does cost a few $$$, or find them yourself. If you can get enough on your own, you might not need NetGalley. But you will need to send them free copies of your book. If you can get enough reviews before your book actually releases, it will rise up all those Amazon lists and be more likely to get noticed. I’ll let you know how it works out.

Of course, there are plenty of services that you can pay for, and they are valid and worthwhile. For the moment, with the guidance of my two publishers, I’m enjoying doing it on my own and learning how the whole process works.

So that’s it so far. And as my journey continues I’ll learn more. Which I’ll be sure to pass along as I go.

And if I could ask you all a favour. The Unadjusteds has been listed on GoodReads as a novel to watch in 2019. Could I ask you to vote for it here:

 https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/117856.Can_t_Wait_Books_of_2019?page=1

and I would be eternally grateful. Unfortunately the beige vote button will only appear from a computer, but if you want to add it to your ‘want to read’ list (green button) that is helpful too.